Garnier Pure Active Product Review

February 27, 2014 § 5 Comments

It should come as no surprise to my regular readers that I have very oily skin, and since I’ve gone off of the pill I’ve been absolutely terrified of my acne returning (acne being the reason I was on the pill in the first place). So when I spotted these Garnier Pure Active products at Clicks, I was pretty excited.

I am currently using three products from this range: the Daily Energising Gel Scrub in the mornings, the Anti-Spot Exfoliating Scrub in the evenings, and the Daily Pore-Reducing Toner after I cleanse.

001

 

I thought since between the three of them they make up the most intensive skin care routine I’ve ever had, I’d review all three in one blog post. So, here goes. 😀

Daily Energising Gel Scrub

002

 

This lovely orange scrub has a bunch of delicious fruity extracts in it, like grapefruit and pomegranate. It also has little exfoliating beads which make it look pretty, aren’t harsh on the skin, and, I cannot state this enough, SHOULD NOT accidentally find their way into either of your eyes if you are silly enough to wash your face with your eyes open and don’t concentrate. It took me 45 minutes to get (what looked like but did not feel like) a tiny little exfoliating bead out from under my left eyelid. It hurt. Don’t do that.

In other news, this scrub contains salicylic acid which is a nifty little acid that is great for people with oily, acne prone skin because it gets deep into your pores to clean out gunk, and encourages your pores to tighten up afterwards as well. In other words, the holy grail.

I have definitely noticed an improvement in my skin since using this scrub every morning, and who wouldn’t want to wake up to this gorgeous aroma? It’s like slathering fresh fruit all over my face and always kicks my day off in a pleasant way.

Anti-Spot Exfoliating Scrub

003

 

This is my night-time face wash (my gosh, look at how fancy I am – two different face washes!) and I like to think of it as the big guns. It’s not light and fruity and pleasant, but a rather clinical blue and white. It also contains little exfoliating beads as well as 2% salicylic acid (which I believe is at the higher end of the spectrum), and doesn’t have a particularly remarkable smell.

The beads aren’t particularly harsh on my skin (which can take a beating) but I would be wary of applying them to sensitive skin. This scrub also contains something called Herbisoothe which is a fancy way of saying that it makes your skin feel lovely and cool when you rinse it off – something I definitely appreciate when enduring a harsh South African summer.

All-in-all this product is pretty badass – I’ve seen a big improvement in my skin with this as well.

Daily Pore-Reducing Toner

004

 

This product also contains that little beauty, salicylic acid. I really wanted to like it, but unfortunately one whiff of this takes my breath away – it has an incredibly strong and unpleasant smell. It stings on my skin, and it makes my oil production increase exponentially.

I reckon that this is a product best used by itself, without any other salicylic acid-containing products, otherwise I get the feeling that your skin will act up. The proposed benefits sound pretty great but it’t just not worth the excess oil. I may try diluting it and see how that works, since it was a little more pricey than my boring old Clicks-brand toner and I don’t want to waste it.

So, there you have it – overall I’m very please with Garnier’s range and I have a few more products I’ve definitely got my eye on. Their products are definitely not overpriced – my remembered estimate is between R70 and R100 for products like these, so they are affordable even for a poor student like me. 😉

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Garnier Pure Active Product Review

  • beautysins says:

    Garnier came out with a lot of stuff this year! I want to try to oil cleanser.

  • Nicky says:

    Hey ! I was strangely excited to find you’re also in SA :p I’m an animal and beauty lover too. I just wanted to recommend more natural exfoliators – you can get them easily from various organic stores e.g. Faithful to Nature. The average scrubs in stores, while smelling delicious and feeling all zingy and efficient, have polyethylene beads in them – very bad for the environment. Please look up: “5 Gyres estimates that a single product can contain over 300 000 of these beads”. “Sea creatures absorb or eat microbeads. These microbeads are passed along the marine food chain. Since humans are ultimately at the top of this food chain, it is likely that we are also absorbing microbeads from the food we eat. Microbeads are not biodegradable and once they enter the marine environment, they are impossible to remove.” Sorry for the alarm – I also only found out this year.

    • Hi Nicky, thanks for that! I am blushing that I didn’t do better research on the topic and will try to keep an eye out for chemical exfoliants instead of microbead ones. I think Eucerin will probably be able to help in that department, though they are pricier than Garnier (and on my student budget, price is pretty important hehe). Thanks for teaching me something new!

    • In other words, keep an eye out for my review of an environmentally-friendly replacement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garnier Pure Active Product Review at Not Necessarily Relevant.

meta

